Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I'm in my last semester of an LLB and Bachelor of Arts in New South Wales, Australia and am keen on moving to the UK to practice law.

I have had paralegal experience in a boutique firm and am currently working at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP). I was considering taking a graduate role with the ODPP for 2-3 years and then heading over to the UK as I've heard it's quite difficult for grads to get jobs in the UK, particularly if I do not have any experience with UK law firms.

Has anyone done something similar or has any advice as to what would be the most appropriate method of going over?

I understand that I would have to undertake testing in the UK in order to qualify as a UK practitioner, which I am happy to do. Just wanting more information about how soon I should get over there and whether it is more beneficial for me to gain experience here in Australia or in the UK?

Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alyshab2)
    Hi everyone,

I'm in my last semester of an LLB and Bachelor of Arts in New South Wales, Australia and am keen on moving to the UK to practice law.

I have had paralegal experience in a boutique firm and am currently working at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP). I was considering taking a graduate role with the ODPP for 2-3 years and then heading over to the UK as I've heard it's quite difficult for grads to get jobs in the UK, particularly if I do not have any experience with UK law firms.

Has anyone done something similar or has any advice as to what would be the most appropriate method of going over?