Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Basically, I've just started a new job, I've worked about nearly two weeks. It wasn't ever intended to be a long term job. I'm a Graphic/Digital Design graduate, and I had intended to go into this field, however, I've had a difficult time finding work. Plus, I took my current job out of necessity to earn some cash, as I just moved out.

It's a job in fast food, it's horrible, menial, demanding, stressful and toxic work. I already despise it. Prior to this I worked 8 years in hospitality in a hotel, and while this was stressful, its nothing compared to fast food. It's a different kind of stress.

I left my former job due to manipulative uncaring boss, to this job which is basically working faster than I possibly can. Only been here a fortnight and I'm having unrealistic demands pushed on me, told to speed up by shift manager despite not been quick enough yet- which offended me. I'm socially anxious as it is, lack confidence and have issues with self esteem.

I feel like either it's me; and I can't hack working life, or it really isn't a job suited to me. I'm near tears every morning at the thought of work.

What to do?
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    Money v job. If you cna survive without the job then quit.

You will find it easier to get a job if you are working. Dwitch to soemthing else in a different sort of environment, back to hotels or whatever you were comfy with in hospitality. If your a graphical design graduate, then wont you have been better off volunteering and getting some associated work experience to take forward to interview?

Its just a job, so you need to see through it and think of the money plus appreciate its only short term. If you start demonising the work as menial then you make it more of a trayma han it needs to be, its a service and people pay money for it. All your colleagues are doing the same.

(Original post by 999tigger)