Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How exactly can I approach a former lecturer to be a referee? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm from Malaysia. I graduated last year with a second class law degree from a local university. My plan is to enrol in a Masters programme in UK sometime next year (2017/2018 intake) as presently I'm doing my pupillage so wouldn't make the deadline for this year's applications.

As we all know, academic references is a key document for admissions to a postgraduate course, but honestly I'm a bit wary of how to approach my former lecturers to ask for one.

I wasn't a top performing student at my faculty and although I did some extra curricular activities on the side, I wasn't in the spotlight in any way. In other words, if I were to go back to my faculty now, I probably have to reintroduce myself to my lecturers as they most likely don't recall me, and especially since I intend to do Masters next year, the time gap in between will be larger.

I suppose it's partly my fault for not establishing a good relationship with my lecturers when I was a student. I was cordial with most of them but I just wasn't comfortable to be 'close' to any of them. I doubt any of them have a bad impression of me, the fear is if they don't have any at all.

Anyone is the same boat or can give helpful advice? Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by luminous_mun)
    Hi,

I'm from Malaysia. I graduated last year with a second class law degree from a local university. My plan is to enrol in a Masters programme in UK sometime next year (2017/2018 intake) as presently I'm doing my pupillage so wouldn't make the deadline for this year's applications.

As we all know, academic references is a key document for admissions to a postgraduate course, but honestly I'm a bit wary of how to approach my former lecturers to ask for one.