Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    or you could just say i work in finance which is generally the term i use when describing to people what i do.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by gr8wizard10)
    or you could just say i work in finance which is generally the term i use when describing to people what i do.
    Can I ask whether you do that because you are not comfortable with your title?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kdanalouise)
    It wouldn't be because they are uncomfortable, it would be because they work in finance. It's just a generalisation.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kdanalouise)
    because hardly anyone knows the details of what the difference areas of finance do anyway and as the previous user said finance is the general term..

i told people "i'm in mergers & acquisitions/corporate finance at xxx investment bank" and people ask what that is, whereas saying finance is just a lot less hassle, and people just realise you're boring and everyone can move on with their lives :rolleyes:

and many people in my area of living think investment bankers are douches, so it's useful to leave that bit out to not entice hate or resenment

ReputationRep:
    Okay that is fair enough. But again I ask, would you be proud to say you're working as a finance assistance at pwc whilst also studying a professional qualification?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by gr8wizard10)
    because hardly anyone knows the details of what the difference areas of finance do anyway and as the previous user said finance is the general term..

i told people "i'm in mergers & acquisitions/corporate finance at xxx investment bank" and people ask what that is, whereas saying finance is just a lot less hassle, and people just realise you're boring and everyone can move on with their lives :rolleyes: