Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I am considering firming one of my university offers, but as an international student I have some concerns. I therefore wanted to address one of these concerns here on the student room, and hopefully get some useful advice or tips.

I'm trying to make a budget for myself, but it's somewhat difficult to foresee all expenses before actually entering uni, and starting life as a student. I would therefore be grateful if anyone would revise my budget, and give an idea of my predicted outgoings. I understand that every student spend their money in different ways, and that some students live really economical, while others spend money as if they had a full time job. Nonetheless you should be able to see if my budget has any obvious flaws... I have included every expense I think I will have, so if you see anything I have forgotten, please let me know I would be really grateful!

The budget is for an entire year..

Name:  Skjermbilde 2016-04-26 kl. 14.20.59.png
Views: 210
Size:  65.8 KB
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    For food, I wouldn't spend any more than £20-25 per week.

In regards to bills (gas and electricity) - have you checked whether the place you're renting (assuming you're not in halls) has them included in your rent?

For travel, I would also budget for going home. You may need to, depending on where you live, look into a bus pass or similar. Your uni will have more information on how these work / cost.

You (and this is a bit difficult to put an amount on tbh) do also need an emergency fund for unexpected costs too.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by Flyole5)
    Hi