Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am in my first year of university and I am going to try and get some consultancy/finance work experience over summer. I am just wondering whether it is better to try and get fewer placements for longer lengths of time or go to more places for shorter periods? Which looks better on cv?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    It's probably too late for the big strat consultancy and other insight weeks. Might be worth trying to get some informal finance stuff. Wouldn't go too long, a lot of firms especially in consultancy prefer first years to have 'life experiences' (read: enjoy your summer) then sweating it out in some office in London.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Maths97Student)
    Hi,

I am in my first year of university and I am going to try and get some consultancy/finance work experience over summer. I am just wondering whether it is better to try and get fewer placements for longer lengths of time or go to more places for shorter periods? Which looks better on cv?

Thanks
    summer internships should be sufficient in terms of work experience
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Maths97Student)
    Hi,

Thanks
    Don't worry about it too much. If you can cold call a few startups based in London or some small businesses in your area to see if they need a hand with anything.

Of course apply to consulting internships in your penultimate year, but do bear in mind that they are more competitive in many cases than the grad scheme places because of how few spots are available. So, if you can, focus on getting any high tier finance internship (IBD/S&T/ER/AM) or an internship at a big name company (John Lewis, Tesco, Google, Nestlé, L'Oréal etc).