Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I've a question regarding the residency aspect of the eligibility requirements, which have left me a touch confused. I'm English, and lived in England until I moved over to Belfast to study for my undergraduate degree. I graduated in Dec '14 with a BA. I lived there for the purpose of study, but hung around until May '15 while I was looking for job opportunities in London. I found something and moved over and have been living here ever since.

I plan to go back to university to study for a Masters, although I have no concrete plans and have made no applications yet. However, my partner lives in Belfast and I also wanted to go back over to spend some time with him before starting a Masters degree, which would likely be somewhere in England/Scotland as the NI universities don't provide a course I'm interested in taking. If I decided to move back to Belfast some time in the next few months to spend a couple of months with him, am I making myself ineligible for the loan? My stay there would be temporary because I would be planning to leave again, but it seems to me that because England wouldn't be the most recent place I'd have physically been living in before the start of the course, I wouldn't be eligible? I also suppose I can assume that if I wanted to stay in Belfast for a bit longer and then apply for university in 2017, I would absolutely be ineligible for the English Postgraduate Loan, right? Although I'd be no more eligible for the NI one either...

Hope you can help.

T.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by ToniLB)
    Hi,