The Student Room Group

Student finance overpayment and Post grad loan eligibility

Hi,

I am interested in studying a postgraduate course but am unsure if I could get any of the funding. I completed my degree in 2012 but subsequently found I had been overpaid some of the bursary. I have been repaying monthly since then but it is still quite a lot to pay, will I be eligible to apply for the post graduate loans when they are available or would I have to repay the over payment in full first

Thanks
Original post by Al_010
Hi,

I am interested in studying a postgraduate course but am unsure if I could get any of the funding. I completed my degree in 2012 but subsequently found I had been overpaid some of the bursary. I have been repaying monthly since then but it is still quite a lot to pay, will I be eligible to apply for the post graduate loans when they are available or would I have to repay the over payment in full first

Thanks

Hi

If you owe any outstanding loan or grant overpayments to SLC you won’t be able to get a Postgraduate Loan until your arrears are cleared.

If you’re repaying a bursary to your previous university this wouldn’t affect you getting a Postgraduate Loan.

Laura
Reply 2
Hi I came across this on the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama:

Previous Loans Any applicant with outstanding SLC loan arrears will not be eligible for a PGL
Outstanding SLC loan arrears means having missed any scheduled repayments, as opposed to having an outstanding SLC balance.

That means if you have been repaying the over-payment monthly then you should be eligible for post graduate funding?
Hi Sun619,

If you’re paying off an outstanding overpayment then you’ll still be eligible to apply for a Postgraduate Loan. The remainder of the overpayment balance will be deducted from how much Postgraduate Loan you can get.

But if you’re repaying an arrears balance for a missed repayment, then you won’t be eligible for a Postgraduate Loan until this has been repaid.