Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm a third year student studying psychology/neuroscience and I still don't know how to revise for exams despite having done them for two years.

I could get away with cramming material a few days before A level exams because I could just memorize the textbook without having to understand anything, which is why I got high marks. I feel that the Cambridge exam style makes it impossible to do that - you can't get away with memorizing the lecture notes because they could literally ask you anything and they expect more knowledge than that.

* I've never been able to make a timetable because of my inability to plan - I've tried and it never works
    * I know I should practice doing past papers, but how am I going to practice if I don't remember all my material (which takes a lot of time)?

How did you go about revising during your time here? How did you plan your revision? Could any of you give me like an example timetable of how you did it? For those who are doing humanities, how do you manage to prioritize any extra reading when they could ask you anything?

ReputationRep:
    Do you want to understand the material? If yes, my advice to you is to find some papers related to the material - papers you're interested in - and read those making notes. In France there is technique called making 'fiches': you read through your class notes, a book, or your text book summarising what you read in a very condensed way. The advantage to this is that you access the material and must engage with it; it is however a little tedious. It lends itself better to science subjects in all truth. In the humanities you are better off making your own more free-flowing notes, featuring your own interrogations and thoughts, references to look up ect.