Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So basically I graduated from uni with a biology degree in July 2015. After I finished uni I had no idea what career I was going to pursue. I have long been considering going into teaching, in particular, primary teaching. However, I kept finding myself questioning whether it was the right career for me and I ended up putting it off. So i missed the primary PGCE application deadline for September 2016 entry. I now have to wait another year (until September 2017) until I am able to start a course.

So... I have been thinking it would be a good idea to work as a teaching assistant for a year to bridge the gap and also gain some valuable experience working with primary school children. I have been looking into teaching assistant vacancies but many, if not all, I have seen advertised in my local area require some form of teaching assistant qualification, and/or previous experience working as a teaching assistant.

I'm wondering if there are opportunities out there for a graduate teaching assistant and if anyone knows where I can find these? Has anyone else found themselves in my situation and gone on to work as a graduate teaching assistant for a year or so?

Thank you in advance!!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by amy3001)
    So basically I graduated from uni with a biology degree in July 2015. After I finished uni I had no idea what career I was going to pursue. I have long been considering going into teaching, in particular, primary teaching. However, I kept finding myself questioning whether it was the right career for me and I ended up putting it off. So i missed the primary PGCE application deadline for September 2016 entry. I now have to wait another year (until September 2017) until I am able to start a course.