The Student Room Group

Brunel University or University of Greenwich for Civil Engineering?

I did my A levels last year but I took year out and decided to apply again this year so I've got unconditional offer to both Brunel and Greenwich. I've been given the impression that Brunel is the better university but if I pick Brunel I will have to a foundation year. Greenwich accepted me straight onto the BEng course. Does anyone have any advice on if it's a good idea to do a foundation year or opinions on the universities? (I also have offers from Brighton and Leeds Beckett but I've been told they're not as good..)
Reply 1
Hi ma6tt, I have some experience in this area as I am involved in the recruitment of experienced and graduate civil engineers for the Tier 1 company I work for in London and hold a BEng in Civil myself.

Firstly both bachelors are accredited to Incorporated level, this means which ever degree you choose to do, if you aspire to become a chartered engineer in the future you will need to do an accredited MSc in civil, construction management or similar. This will put you on par with graduates who have obtained a MEng degree. Its actually a bit cheaper to do the BEng+MSc route circa £4K.

As a employer I would have no preference over either university's and you would be considered for employment if you gained a 2:1 or first.
Personally I would go to either Greenwich or Brighton and do 4 years study to get both the undergraduate and postgraduate rather than doing 4 years in Brunel for just the undergraduate degree, you will have less debt, more qualified to chartered level and therefore more employable.

Ray
Reply 2
Great advice, thank you! Brighton would require me to do a foundation too so i guess you think its best to go to Greenwich.