Advice about acommodation for new students

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
How helpful is our apprenticeship zone? Have your say with our short survey 02-12-2016
Admissions Testing Service Exams Discussion Rules - Please read before posting! 02-11-2016

ReputationRep:
    Hi there! So I'm a student at Abertay and I've been in the uni halls for almost 8 months now and wanted to give you some advice. First at all, avoid at any cost the university halls, they are a completely rip-off (lesson learned). There's no intimacy as the janitors/contractors/Peter the eel are coming into your room/kitchen like 1000 times to check 1893219847392 different irrelevant sh*ts. Plus, there are false fire alarms at many times and they check them every single week, which means that if you're sleeping you'll be freaking out. Not only that, but apart from paying about 400 quids (more like 500) a month, you'll have to pay for the washing machine (2.50 each time) and the cheeky bastards will tell you that you shouldn't dry the clothes in your room because the walls will get damaged and therefore you should use the dryer (1.50). I'm currently at Meadowside and know people from the other halls and we're all really pissed off. Last but not least, the materials they use for the stuff is absolutely sh*it, and they even have a list of the price of EVERYTHING, so they can happily charge you as they want if anything gets broken (it will). We're still waiting if they'll charge us for something before we leave.

Ps. I forgot to say that in Meadowside there's just one washing machine and one dryer for THE WHOLE BUILDING, which means 8 flats by 9 people each = 72 people, which means you'll be screw*d because it is always busy (plus it gets often broken because they are a completely bunch of _______)

So, WHAT CAN YOU DO?