Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there! So I'm currently studying a degree in a Scottish university and I was wondering if I will need to take again an IELTS exam to apply for a postgraduate course as English is not my first language. Has any of you, non-native English speakers, applied for that before? From my point of view it would be pretty stupid if they asked to, because having a degree in the UK "kind of" shows that one can speak the language. My opinion though.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    I think having done a British degree you should be fine but check with the uni.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alleycat393)
    I think having done a British degree you should be fine but check with the uni.
    Hope so, thank you very much!

ReputationRep:
    Usually even the strictest courses don't ask for it if you have a recent three-year or more English-medium degree done in an English-speaking country at an English-speaking institution.

Most don't ask for it if you have ever in your life completed a degree in English (not necessarily in an English-speaking country).

Some may even offer a test themselves to assess your proficiency - when you apply for a visa you say they've assessed you anyway, not that you have an IELTS score.

That is, if they still consider Scottish a variant of English. After all, many English people do complain about not being able to understand Peter Capaldi.

But I disagree - many people still don't speak English very well after a degree from a UK university. You also need to remember that the business now does a lot of other stuff - many degrees have been granted as top-up degrees (with a lot of credit transfers overseas), and many are entirely done online.