Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have been studying for about 4 months now and there is plenty to take in.

I struggled back in school, which was many years ago now and feel that there can be a lot of improvement that can be obtained still.

There is abvice from my uni on things like note taking, essay writing, referencing and so on, but feel that it is all spread out and hard to find and go indpeth with.

How to do all become a better student?

Is there a book that covers all or some of what is needed to get better at all this?
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Stella cottrell's study skills handbook is a good read for improving your studying in general and the same publisher does many other useful books too, for instance theres one on critical thinking. Do you have any particular weak areas?

(Original post by mrnace)
    I have been studying for about 4 months now and there is plenty to take in.

I struggled back in school, which was many years ago now and feel that there can be a lot of improvement that can be obtained still.

There is abvice from my uni on things like note taking, essay writing, referencing and so on, but feel that it is all spread out and hard to find and go indpeth with.

How to do all become a better student?

Is there a book that covers all or some of what is needed to get better at all this?

ReputationRep:
    I just bought 'success in academic writing,' palgrave study books. Is that the sort of thing you're looking for?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by claireestelle)
    Stella cottrell's study skills handbook is a good read for improving your studying in general and the same publisher does many other useful books too, for instance theres one on critical thinking. Do you have any particular weak areas?