Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm having a really hard time convincing my mum that doing a MSc. is worthwhile. I graduated last year and I want to study abroad. I don't even want financial support I just want a little understanding. She never did a bachelors just went straight into work so I don't think she understands. Does anyone else have this problem or have any advice?
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Smoff)
    I'm having a really hard time convincing my mum that doing a MSc. is worthwhile. I graduated last year and I want to study abroad. I don't even want financial support I just want a little understanding. She never did a bachelors just went straight into work so I don't think she understands. Does anyone else have this problem or have any advice?
    I've moved this into the Postgraduate Support forum where hopefully some other postgrad students and applicants will be able to share their advice
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    My dad is similar and it was only by doing what I thought was best for me and proving that it got me to where I wanted to be that I got him to come round. He now admits that I had my head screwed on when I made the decision to come to the UK to study and then carry on studying into a PhD.

ReputationRep:
    Yes my mum is the same. I was planning to do a masters and now I'm not sure. For me financial support is important, but I think the support from my parents is even more important.

ReputationRep: