Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm almost certain that I want to study English for my degree. I'm thinking about KCL, but is London really very expensive? Obviously I could get a job, but I'm not sure how it would fit in around my university schedule. Even the maximum maintenance loan on the government's website I could only cover rent, it seems. I've never lived in London (or any city really) before, and I'm just looking for advice if anyone can help.

Obviously if any of you guys have any experience doing English or studying at KCL (or both!!) then that would be great too.

Cheers

Quick Edit: In my A level class, there are eight girls and one guy - me. In the year above there were twelve girls and two guys. Is this normal for degree courses too? (I'm totally fine with it, in case you were wondering.)

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I'm a second year English student at KCL. There's no denying student renting in London is expensive, but in terms of other stuff - like food, travel, going out and enjoying yourself etc, there's lots of things you can do to save some money here and there.

Also, as an English student I only have 8 hours of seminars and lectures a week (the rest of the hours are dedicated to reading), so this means you would be able to get a part time job if you needed to. You just need to allocate your time well.

In terms of food, the big supermarkets are the cheapest (rather than a Tesco Express, go to a full sized one,for example). The big ones always have a bigger reduced section too so if you have room in the freezer you can stock up.