Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a first year studying adult nursing, however through my placements I've come to the realisation that this is not what I want to do, and I want to study medicine.

I do not have A levels as I took BTEC Health and Social Care, I got D*D*D*. I know that no uni will accept me for 5 year medicine with the grades I currently have and realise this needs to be part of a future plan, however I have loads of questions and don't know who to put them to :/

If I have a degree in nursing do I still need A levels?
    Am I able to get NHS funding for a second degree?
    Do I need 3 A levels? (I have one AS in English Language, and could take Bio and Chem alongside my degree)
    Would I be able to do an accelerated degree or would I have to do the 5 years as standard?
    I only get limited SFE funding as I'm on an NHS course (around 2K for my living costs), would I be able to apply to them to make up the rest of my tuition fees as I haven't had tuition fee money from them yet?
    Am I eligible for the 6 year degree anywhere?

I know I have the option of quitting my degree and studying more, then starting medicine, but I'm scared to take the plunge, as it's taken this long to believe in myself that I could master medicine, but I know it's where my heart belongs. I undertook nursing as a substitute to that, but I can't see myself nursing for the rest of my life.

Gah! Life melt >.<

ReputationRep:
    If I have a degree in nursing do I still need A levels?
    It depends on where you apply (for grad entry medicine). I think a small number don't have A-level requirements, however you'd need to finish with a 2:1 in your current degree to apply.
    Am I able to get NHS funding for a second degree?
    Idk, someone else is probably more knowledgeable on this. However I think that the course for grad-entry medicine has its own funding.