Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an AS student studying biology, chemistry, maths and psychology (which I will drop) and my ALPs are at grade A. I really don't know what to do after college, but I was considering engineering and went to my careers advisor with that. When talking, I said I was interested in computers, and I was told to consider this as a career as my maths is at grad A, A* at GCSE.

One recommendation was the BSc degree apprenticeship in Digital and Technology Solutions, here's the link:
    http://www2.mmu.ac.uk/apprenticeship...ogy-solutions/

The 'earn while you learn (& get a degree!)' is very appealing, but because this qualification is fairly new, I don't really know exactly where it can get me. The site says I could get jobs such as software and network engineer, but how many people will actually get those from this scheme? And what is the earning/promotion potential?

ReputationRep:
    Basically it is the same as taking a BSc computer science/software engineering except you have more industry experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by niteninja1)
    Basically it is the same as taking a BSc computer science/software engineering except you have more industry experience.
    So this would not be 'second best' to a regular degree (my college wants us to think a pure degree is the only way to go)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jasonrose98)
    So this would not be 'second best' to a regular degree (my college wants us to think a pure degree is the only way to go)
    effectively yes my college says they are alternatives. Some people want more hands on experience and others want the pure uni experience.

ReputationRep:
    its similar to the A-Level BTec argument

ReputationRep:
    Its a very good scheme, essentially on completion you will have a BSc degree and a good few years experience on your CV most companies will put you straight into a grad job