Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am a second year maths student. As part of each module there are 3-4 pieces of homework/assignments/problem sheets that must be handed in to your markers pigeon hole before the deadline, and these in total count for 20% of your grade.

For each module the deadline times are different, and also the penalties for late submission vary. In my only module where late submission is penalised with 0 marks, my marker has twice given me 0 marks due to apparently handing in the work after the deadline.

I categorically did not hand these into his pigeon hole late, the deadline is 4:30PM and I'll admit that the work would have been handed in close to this time but definitely not after it.

I have never handed in a single piece of work late, which can be viewed on my student page on the vle for various modules.

I have emailed this marker both times, twice he has told me that it was handed in late, and despite my best efforts the first time he wasn't budging. So I let it go... but now this has happened for a second time. Rather conspicuously, this second piece of work was handed in the day after we exchanged emails regarding the first piece of work, making me even more suspicious as to why they are getting marked as late.

I have emailed the lecturer but he told me that this PhD student is a trusted marker so he has no reason to doubt that he is telling the truth, so here it is... my word against the markers word. No proof from either sides, the pain of still handing work into a box in the 21st century. Very frustrating when this work counts significantly for the module.

I want to take this matter further as these two pieces of work are 10% of my module grade, I spent a lot of time and effort doing the work, handed it in on time, and I am getting zero credit for it. This is very frustrating.