From bad uni to good uni?

Announcements Posted on
Four things that unis think matter more than league tables 08-12-2016

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a 2nd year undergraduate student at the London Metropolitan University (I'm studying BA Law), unfortunately, I ended up here due to bad life choices (i.e. no motivation/revision).
    Anyway, although initially upset, I was so thankful for this opportunity to get my education back on track and I am on track to get a 1st class degree .

My question is, as I am entering 3rd year, I would like to begin my applications for postgraduate study.. I am hoping to study Law with Finance. Can I please have honest advice and opinions on whether any good or higher ranking universities would accept me? And does anyone know of any similar stories where people have graduated from a bad university but been accepted into a Russell Group university for their masters program?

I want to apply to higher ranking universities only (because, hopefully I will get a 1st!) but at the same time, I'd like to apply to universities that would actually consider my application and give me a chance.

Thank you so much for your time everyone! And please don't be mean.. as you can see from my name, I'm already quite sad about this situation :'(.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't say I went to a bad undergrad uni, but it was a middle-ranking former poly. I went on to do my Masters at an RG uni which was regularly in the top five in the UK for my subject.

With a well-written application, a good degree grade and some good academic references, decent admissions offices will see past the reputation of a lower ranked uni. Just don't get sucked into the reputation of your prospective postgrad unis when you're deciding between them. Sometimes great departments can be lurking in average unis. Look for the course and academic staff who are going to give you what you want.

ReputationRep:
    Go for it la

ReputationRep: