Cardiff University: architecture course Watch

hrpml17
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi! I'm a portuguese student. I have an offer from Cardiff, Bristol and Northumbria to study architecture and I have until June 8 to give them an answer. I'm having some difficulty in taking a decision. As I can't afford to miss school this days it's almost impossible to me to go to UK universities, and see them. I've talked with some people and they all say that Cardiff would be the better choice. But, from what I've saw it looks like a very classical environment, and not to so artistic and open-mindend like Northumbria looks.
Does someone have studied architecture in Cardiff? If yes, how is the course? Is it given very importance to maths?
QueenTogepi
Badges: 8
Report 3 months ago
Hi !

I don't study at Cardiff or Bristol (I guess when you say Bristol you mean UWE?) or Northumbria but I will try to help. I am a french student so you'll have the perspective of an international student.
Just to give you a little background, I started studying architecture & environmental engineering in 2014 at UWE. Long story short, I dropped out in February in first year because there was a lot of work and I didn't have the maturity to go through it. I then started studying Engineering Mathematics at UoB (University of Bristol) and I'll be graduating this year. What I can definitely tell is that Bristol is a beautiful city. I don't know if you know London but it feels a bit like a mini version of London. It's smaller and more liveable than London such that you have everything there (shops, restaurants, clubs...) but it's not too crowded. UWE is no in the city centre so unless you want to have a 30 minutes bus journey to travel to and from uni every day, you might want to live on campus in Frenchay at least for first year. If I can remember, there is a small grocery shop on campus but that was 5 years ago so it might have changed.