Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello
    Im a graduate starting the 5 year course this September 2016 at KCL and have a baby! I would like to know how many hours a week do you have to be at uni roughly in the first 2 years, and is it half days or full days?
    That would help me make a decision on weather to put my son at nursery full/part time or whether to defer the year alltogether if its too much!
    Any advice welcome

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by saramed)
    Hello
    Im a graduate starting the 5 year course this September 2016 at KCL and have a baby! I would like to know how many hours a week do you have to be at uni roughly in the first 2 years, and is it half days or full days?
    That would help me make a decision on weather to put my son at nursery full/part time or whether to defer the year alltogether if its too much!
    Any advice welcome
    It depends a lot on the week/month and what you actually turn up to - lectures are optional so if you don't turn up to any and watch them all online, you won't be in very often (only for practicals, tutorials and dissection). Early on its quite heavy, there are lots of early starts and late finishes but these ease off. I'd say on average you're there around 12-14 hours a week, more on a heavy week.

It should be fairly similar for 2nd year (I'm only 1st year so I can't answer as of yet).

ReputationRep:
    12-14 hours including all the lectures??

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ghotay)
    12-14 hours including all the lectures??
    If you went to all of them (most people tend to skip ones before 10/11 and after 3/4), it'd probably be around 20. There is a lot of variation though.

ReputationRep:
    Each year is a bit different so you could have lectures spread out the day, which for yourself could be a problem.