Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, please I am having a serious dilemma and I really need help. I am an overseas student and I have 2 scholarships. One to study Public Health for Development at LSHTM and the other to study International Health and Tropical Medicine at Oxford.
    Please I would really appreciate any valuable information that could help me make this crucial choice.
    As concerns career ambitions: I would like to be a public health leader promoting projects to improve health in resource limited settings.
    Patiently waiting for your inputs.
    Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Both Unis are highly credible and with international recognition in this area, so deciding on simply 'which Uni' is not the way to make this choice. The two courses will not be identical - you need to choose the course that interests you the most, and which has most relevance to your career aims. If you haven't formally studied 'Development' before I would suggest that the LSHTM course might be a better move - and the entire college is focussed on health/medicine. But ultimately its your choice.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks a lot.
    I looked through the modules for both courses and they really were a lot of similarities.
    However, the LSHTM course has a lot of focus on Epidemiology and Biostatistics. But then again, how does one say "No" to Oxford?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IST)
    . But then again, how does one say "No" to Oxford?
    If it isn't actually the course you want to do or doesn't really relate to your proposed career - it could be a big waste of time, whatever the University.

ReputationRep:
    You can't go wrong with Oxford, but that doesn't necessarily mean it is the best for everyone.

Oxford has that gravitas to make moves and influence on the world stage which could be highly useful.