Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I've never yet had a job as a psychologist or assistant psychologist, which leads me to wonder, what was the point?

ReputationRep:
    How long ago did you graduate? Your uni employment support service will help you up to two years (I think it is).

Try to get your foot in the door of the sector you wish to pursue a career in and you should rise through the ranks fairly swiftly with 1st degree.

ReputationRep:
    What jobs have you applied for and how many? Have you had any interviews? What other experience do you have?

I graduated with a 2:1 and had 4 years experience as a support worker, I didn't start getting interviews properly (and an Assistant Psychologist post) until I completed my masters. It isn't an easy career to progress in. While a first is a great thing to have and puts you to the top of shortlisting piles, it isn't a free pass to a job.

ReputationRep:
    I have a MRes Psychology too, but I've since realised I don't want to be a psychologist.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not sure what your question is. Are you lamenting the fact that you pursued Psychology academically and now don't wish to be a Psychologist? Or are you questioning the value of Psychology as a degree in terms of getting other jobs?

If you don't want to be a Psychologist, then it doesn't matter whether you have worked as an Assistant or not. What career do you want?

ReputationRep:
    Lamenting it, it's a pointless degree unless you want to be a psychologist, and I was BPS best student. I wanted to be one then I thought a social worker is the same so I wasted three years for nothing. But most degrees are pointless.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JamesManc)
    Lamenting it, it's a pointless degree unless you want to be a psychologist, and I was BPS best student. I wanted to be one then I thought a social worker is the same so I wasted three years for nothing. But most degrees are pointless.