Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hello,
    I am an international student and I plan on studying in the UK.
    I am a bit conflicted on what to study, I heard about the ACCA qualification and its pros, and the fact that you can gain an oxford brookes degree along the qualification if you choose to. on the other hand I'm afraid that an actual university degree would be a better option. I was hoping anyone with information about ACCA and/or accounting degrees would help me with this one. which option should i go for?

ReputationRep:
    Hey

I work as a Level 2 Management Accountant full time for a large American IT firm. I did an Economics degree and am doing my ACCA Professional Level. My degree only gave me 1 exception however. If you do a degree, then make sure it is one that you can get a lot of exceptions i.e. make sure it is relevant to accountancy so then you can finish ACCA quicker.

Honestly, I think you can save a lot of time if you just go straight to ACCA - with the degree as far as I know you can get exceptions for up to 9 exams, but I think it might work out more expensive for you that way.

If you are able to just start ACCA straight away and you are able to self study (there are a lot of good resources out there - going to college is not always the default answer) then it will be more cost effective for you and time saving. It is more appealing to employers if you can juggle work experience with study so ACCA is much more flexible in that regard, especially now they have 4 sittings in the UK. Don't forget some employers will also sponsor you with ACCA whereas you most likely won't get the same level of help with a degree. To be honest the level of technical knowledge in ACCA will make up for anything you may miss from not doing a degree.