Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

French student looking for a PG course in the UK watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello everbody, I am currently studying to get a BA in History in France (une licence d'Histoire) and after that I would like to study Public History and Heritage in the UK (to work in museums and other organisations in the future..)
    My question is: What's the difference between a MA, a PGDip and a PGCert, and what's better for me ?
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Manondessources)
    Hello everbody, I am currently studying to get a BA in History in France (une licence d'Histoire) and after that I would like to study Public History and Heritage in the UK (to work in museums and other organisations in the future..)
    My question is: What's the difference between a MA, a PGDip and a PGCert, and what's better for me ?
    Thanks
    They each have a different number of credits. An MA has the most at 180 and usually includes a dissertation, an extended independent research project, it normally runs for around 12 months. A PGDip is 120 credits- usually its just the taught course part of the MA- the bit where you go to lectures and seminars, without the dissertation. Then a PGCert is even fewer credits.

If you are going to go for a Masters you might as well do the full thing subject to having the required grades, certainly in the UK PGDip and PGCerts aren't widely recognised.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jelly1000)
    They each have a different number of credits. An MA has the most at 180 and usually includes a dissertation, an extended independent research project, it normally runs for around 12 months. A PGDip is 120 credits- usually its just the taught course part of the MA- the bit where you go to lectures and seminars, without the dissertation. Then a PGCert is even fewer credits.