Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

My company have recently announced that they're going to make people redundant. I know as an apprentice I'm safe, but I don't want to work for a company where a future isn't secure - for myself of the company.

I have two questions. As an apprentice, I signed a twelve month contract, but it's for a small company so it was abit ******** if I'm honest. Can I leave before the twelve months is up?

Also, if I did move to a different company, I wish to continue doing an apprenticeship as I do actually enjoy it. Companies can only pay an apprenticeship wage for the first year, then must pay at least the national minimum wage for your age group. If I do move, will this 'reset', and the new company able to pay me the apprenticeship wage again, or what, how does this work. I've googled and can't find any answers.

Please help.

Thanks,

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by Endors Toi)
    Hi all,

My company have recently announced that they're going to make people redundant. I know as an apprentice I'm safe, but I don't want to work for a company where a future isn't secure - for myself of the company.

I have two questions. As an apprentice, I signed a twelve month contract, but it's for a small company so it was abit ******** if I'm honest. Can I leave before the twelve months is up?

Also, if I did move to a different company, I wish to continue doing an apprenticeship as I do actually enjoy it. Companies can only pay an apprenticeship wage for the first year, then must pay at least the national minimum wage for your age group. If I do move, will this 'reset', and the new company able to pay me the apprenticeship wage again, or what, how does this work. I've googled and can't find any answers.