Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello guys,

Yesterday I was driving down a slow road and had a minor hit on a car.
    My car took no damage, but the other car did, and it will be needing some repairs.I was driving around 5 miles.(there was no injury to any persons, just damage to the body of the other persons car).

We exchanged details, and the person told me that they will call me back after getting a quote for a repair from a repair centre.

Do I need to do anything? I am not very experienced, so not sure if I should be doing anything, and starting to panic a bit.

Will this affect my insurance or have a bad impact on my driving history (this is my first few weeks of having insurance).

Thanks, really need your help

it will affect your insurance if you make a claim or you can just pay the person upfront

ReputationRep:
    So if he makes a claim (don't know if that would be against me or not ) would that affect my insurance and is there any paperwork ?

Greatly appreciate it

(Original post by Sam977)
    So if he makes a claim (don't know if that would be against me or not ) would that affect my insurance and is there any paperwork ?

Greatly appreciate it
    If they make a claim on your insurance, (likely) then you will lose your No claims bonus and your insurance will rocket up. Or you could pay for their repairs upfront if it's cheap. (unlikely)

there will be paperwork, if they make a claim against you, you need to send it to your insurer
    • Community Assistant
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    CV Helper