Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What are some alternate routes into medicine? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm a year 11 student currently doing GCSEs but am worried that my grades are not going to be strong enough to easily get into medical school. What are the alternate routes (such as science degrees which after 1 year you have the opportunity to switch to medicine, not sure about the procedure for those) and the unis and courses that offer these routes. And is there anyone who has gone through one of these alternate routes themselves?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by HR321)
    I'm a year 11 student currently doing GCSEs but am worried that my grades are not going to be strong enough to easily get into medical school. What are the alternate routes (such as science degrees which after 1 year you have the opportunity to switch to medicine, not sure about the procedure for those) and the unis and courses that offer these routes. And is there anyone who has gone through one of these alternate routes themselves?
    It depends what you class as 'not strong enough'. What are your predictions?

Ideally you want to aim to get in to medicine as an undergraduate. There are only a handful of courses that offer transfers to medicine and they only have a very small number of transfer places available (and usually with very rigorous academic requirements).

There are foundation courses if you cone from a disadvantaged background.

But really, wait and see what you get in gcses before deciding your grades aren't strong enough.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ForestCat)
    It depends what you class as 'not strong enough'. What are your predictions?