The Student Room Group

Further Maths Mechanics

Hi,
I am currently studying for my GCSEs, in year 11, and have decided to take A level maths, biology, chemistry and music. But I am doing GCSE further maths and really enjoying it. I told my maths teacher my A level choices and she thinks I should do further maths as maths A level will not stretch me much.
However, I hate physics and don't know whether I could cope with the mechanics units in further maths. Any advice? Are the units hard and how much are they based on physics?
Reply 1
Original post by Sassy_Bookworm
Hi,
I am currently studying for my GCSEs, in year 11, and have decided to take A level maths, biology, chemistry and music. But I am doing GCSE further maths and really enjoying it. I told my maths teacher my A level choices and she thinks I should do further maths as maths A level will not stretch me much.
However, I hate physics and don't know whether I could cope with the mechanics units in further maths. Any advice? Are the units hard and how much are they based on physics?

Hey!

Further Maths contains a lot of challenging stuff, and normal Maths A Level is made a lot easier when doing this. It also requires a lot more effort to understand concepts. For example there have been times where I've been sat staring at a question for literally 2-3 hours straight trying to figure out how to do it.

If you're enjoying GCSE Further Maths, then I would seriously consider taking it at A Level.

Mechanics is 100% Physics so in your position that isn't ideal, but it may be possible that your school will let you self study other modules instead, like S3.

In terms of difficulty, AS is fine but when you get to the A2 stuff it steps up quite considerably (depending on which units you take). For instance FP2 and FP3 contain some pretty tricky topics, but they are very interesting nonetheless.

Taking Further Maths was, personally, an amazing decision for me and I would definitely recommend it!