Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

taking a full English A-level in one year as a private candidate Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

My story is quite long and complicated, so I'm not going to post it here, but...

I'm a mature student from the EU and I'm going to apply to Cambridge and UCL to study English. I have a level 3 qualification from my former high school, but not in English literature, so it's the only A-level I need. I've been contacting British councils and international schools in neighbouring countries (our British Council is not really helpful and our international schools don't take private candidates) and managed to find a centre where I'll be able to take the exam next summer. I'm preparing for it with the help of a tutor and lots of wider reading. Is there anyone here who took/is thinking of taking and English A-level privately for whatever reason? If so, how are you preparing for it? How are you going to do the coursework? If you haven't taken English at school, are you thinking of taking the AS level exam too, or just the A-level?

It goes without saying that I'm working as hard as I possibly can, which is easy when you're doing what you love.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dorababy1995)
    I'm a mature student from the EU and I'm going to apply to Cambridge and UCL to study English. I have a level 3 qualification from my former high school, but not in English literature, so it's the only A-level I need. I've been contacting British councils and international schools in neighbouring countries (our British Council is not really helpful and our international schools don't take private candidates) and managed to find a centre where I'll be able to take the exam next summer.How are you going to do the coursework? If you haven't taken English at school, are you thinking of taking the AS level exam too, or just the A-level?Thanks!