The Student Room Group

Need advice asap about maths edexcel

I recently sat my non-calculator maths exam and completely flopped it. I walked feeing like I was going to fail it and only got round 60% right (I cried straight after). I am an A grade student and have worked hard to move from a B to an A. is it possible for me to improve on the calculator exam and how do I do this?. thank you so much for reading this :smile:
The grade boundary for an A is generally between 125-136. Let's say its the highest of 136, which is unlikely that it is because that exam was hard and the grade boundaries would probably be low. So if you got 60/100, you would need to get 76 on the calculator paper. That's definitely possible. My teacher has made a list of things that may come up on calculator because they weren't on non- calculator. For example: histograms; different types of plotting graphs; simultaneous equations; trial and improvement; transformation of graphs; upper and lower bounds; bearings; trig; plans and elevations etc. I would revise them all well, I would aim for 70% minimum for the calculator in order to get the A, and I'm thinking that the grade bounderies will hopefully be low. Don't worry about it, revise!
Hope this helps!
I have the exact same problem except my target grade is an A* for maths and on that non calc i scored just over 70. I desperately wanted an A* but that means I'm going to have to score around 90+ on the calculator to get it... which is virtually impossible.
Reply 3
Exact same position, I think it's silly marks that people lose in an exam situation. I go about 68-75 on the first paper which mean to get my A* I have to get 90+.

Your in a better position, with work over this half term I know you wil be able to score 80+ on the calculator.:smile:
Good luck
Reply 4