Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am an aspiring dentist and I want to know if getting in to Manchester, Leeds or Birmingham is a realistic proposition. At GCSE, I did CIE iGCSE for all exams and got 6A*(English lang, Maths, Chem, Bio, Physics, French) and 2A (English lit, Add Maths). I haven't done any work experience yet but I have arranged to do two weeks at my local dentist. I also haven't done volunteering yet but I am planning on doing so soon at a local charity shop (although I don't know if volunteering is an absolute must to get into dental school?)
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dakofsta)
    Hi, I am an aspiring dentist and I want to know if getting in to Manchester, Leeds or Birmingham is a realistic proposition. At GCSE, I did CIE iGCSE for all exams and got 6A*(English lang, Maths, Chem, Bio, Physics, French) and 2A (English lit, Add Maths). I haven't done any work experience yet but I have arranged to do two weeks at my local dentist. I also haven't done volunteering yet but I am planning on doing so soon at a local charity shop (although I don't know if volunteering is an absolute must to get into dental school?)
    Thanks
    The truth is that no one can give you the answer you want and I've even sat on interview panels for the past 3 years. I remember how it feels, when i was in your position i just wanted somone to say to me "don't worry Ryan, with your application you are guaranteed a place!" It's understandable and we would all like that certainty, but that is just not how it works. All you can do is stack the odds in your favour.

However, if you GCSE, A level, UKCAT are all satisfactory. And if you have work experience, voluntary work, a good personal statement and evidence of manual dexterity. Then you're off to a good start.