The Student Room Group

Should I reapply and start over?

Hello,
Last year I took my IGCSEs and to say I loved my results is an understatement. However, when I was applying to uni I was extremely conflicted between two B.Sc. Courses and even though they were both very appealing to me I was accepted to the one I was less enthused about. The first was B.Sc. Of Dentistry and and the second was B.Sc of Economic and Social studies. Now almost a year later, I have finished an entire semester of Eco & Social Studies and I love it. Yet, I would not like to continue in it. The only option I have, since my mother does not support me studying abroad is to reapply to the same university for Dentistry. I am so conflicted but I am confident academically because I don't mind adding a year to it because education has no age, I mean I don't mind if I graduated at fifty. What's important to me is that I graduate confident and to love my job. I can't see myself doing something that isn't science-related. So I know I have to go through a with this.

My doubts come in as I am absolutely terrified of being alone in a new journey where I have to be a year behind and all my friends are to graduate a year above me. I don't know how to feel about it. On one note I'm like, it doesn't matter what people say but then again it kind of does.

This is my first forum on this website and I am in dire need of help and guidance. What should I do? How do I forget about people and go through with this? I don't want to wake up four years from now with regrets on both sides.

Thank you all so much already.
(edited 7 years ago)
Original post by Promisecess
Hello,