Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

As a small amount of background, I am currently a Commissioned Officer in the RAF; something I worked tirelessly to achieve. I have been privileged enough to command teams of highly experienced and skilled personnel and I've also done that whilst deployed on operations around the world.

Whilst I love the military, I have always had a desire to pursue a career in law, I was just uncertain as to the direction that would take. I have worked on numerous investigations in my capacity as a Provost Officer, but it's not criminal law that piques my interest. Having worked in some Capability Development roles, my real interest has been in how the MOD works with industry to develop products and the huge deals attributed to creating a defence asset like Typhoon.

I am currently studying for my Law degree, distance learning through Northumbria University. It's a 4 year programme so in addition to a full time career it has been an intense workload but one I have relished. At present, my grades fall within first - high 2:1 scores - my only problem is A levels - I only have an A and a B. My primary ambition is to secure a TC with a City Firm and work in London. That said, I am concerned that my A levels and non RG university degree will let me down.

I am reasonably confident that should I get to interview (or they glance past my A Levels on my application) I would be able to demonstrate a passion for the Law and the fact I think I could be a worthy candidate - the Royal Air Force has given me a solid grounding, I never fail to put service before self - something I could bring to a law firm.

I just want to know if people think I would even stand a chance? The competition is nothing short of excellent and I thoroughly admire the tenacity of the people on here who are also working incredibly hard to realise their goals.

Thanks for reading!