Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm planning on purchasing a keyboard. What brand or models would anyone recommend?
    I've seen some but they all have different number of keys, what would be ideal for me?
    Another question has anyone self-taught, how difficult would you say it was?

Thank you!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    Buy a casio, and it's easy fam you just play by ear, if it sounds good then it is good
    • TSR Support Team
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Peer Support Volunteers
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by A321)
    I'm planning on purchasing a keyboard. What brand or models would anyone recommend?
    I've seen some but they all have different number of keys, what would be ideal for me?
    Another question has anyone self-taught, how difficult would you say it was?

Thank you!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
    I'm more of an advocate for learning on a piano rather than a keyboard, but if you're short on space I'd recommend going for a digital piano, or a keyboard with weighted keys as this is more like a real piano and you get a better amount of resistance when you're pressing the keys. 88 keys is piano size, and probably ideal. For a new learner, you'd probably be fine with less, but if you're wanting to invest in something and play more classical pieces, I'd recommend 88. It really depends what you're wanting to learn and what your end goal is, and also your budget and space allowance.