Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

This is hard to write as many people will not understand but I will give it a shot. I am 24 my boyfriend is 28 he is a banker and I am a trainee solicitor. I have been with him for 5 years and he is most certainly the man I want to spend the rest of my life with.

The problem is my parents do not know about him. My parents are very strict and I think my mum suffers from some sort of mental health condition. She wont let me do anything away from her, for instance if I want to see a friend for coffee she will pretend she is sick and tell me if I leave her im an awful daughter. When I last had a boyfriend when I was 17 (a male friend I went to the cinema with) they locked me in my room threw my car keys away and took my phone until I stopped seeing him. My parents are sometimes quite violent aswell. This is why I haven't told them about my partner because I am scared of what they will do to me.

The obvious answer is to leave my boyfriend has said hes happy for me to live with him. But I cant seem to leave my parents I am still terrified of upsetting them and want to please them. I have been seeing a councillor as due to home issues I do suffer from quite bad depression. My councillor says she thinks I have a sort of Stockholm syndrome.

My dream is that my parents accept me and my boyfriend and we all live happily after. The reality is likely that I either have to pick my boyfriend or my family. And I don't know what to do. I am saving £600 every month until January as an emergency fund so if I need to leave home I can. My boyfriend is meeting my parents In January (im introducing them as a new boyfriend) in a bid to see if they will accept us. If they don't then I guess I have no option but to leave. I don't really know what advice I am asking for I guess just any advice on my situation. I feel like such a awful person I spend most of my time crying about it and feeling sad all the time