Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I have been accepted on a course for Medical Imaging -At the interview stage I asked if there was any prep or prestarting material that I could familiarise myself with and their advice was general anatomy. Is there anything anyone would advise who has started the course that you wish you could have looked at beforehand to get a idea in advance of September- my main concern is that I am a mature student and haven't been in school/sixth form for a few years so would like to brush up first. Thank you.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bones-Joint...nes+and+joints

Probably the most useful book you'll have in your first year. I think it'd be helpful to have a head start on the contents before you start the course. If you don't want to pay £30, a used older version will do the job just fine - human skeletons haven't changed in 10 years.

Don't worry about positioning guides until you start. Don't concern yourself with physics either.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by obriena34)
    Hi, I have been accepted on a course for Medical Imaging -At the interview stage I asked if there was any prep or prestarting material that I could familiarise myself with and their advice was general anatomy. Is there anything anyone would advise who has started the course that you wish you could have looked at beforehand to get a idea in advance of September- my main concern is that I am a mature student and haven't been in school/sixth form for a few years so would like to brush up first. Thank you.

Interesting. I am a 'mature' student too and I had the same sort of enthusiasm for radiography before starting the course. Looking back now, what would I have advised myself to read prior to commencing the course?

hmmmm, OK:

1. Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy by Kenneth L. Bontrager.