Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi! so i'm a latin student who is very interested in studying greek, but didn't pick it up when it was offered for gcse : ((((. so i'm planning to learn it myself over the summer just to get a better knowledge of it so that i can apply for an intensive greek course in uni. i'm going to get john taylor's greek to gcse to start with- but does anyone have any advice or do's+don'ts ? thank you so much!!!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by homerics)
    hi! so i'm a latin student who is very interested in studying greek, but didn't pick it up when it was offered for gcse : ((((. so i'm planning to learn it myself over the summer just to get a better knowledge of it so that i can apply for an intensive greek course in uni. i'm going to get john taylor's greek to gcse to start with- but does anyone have any advice or do's+don'ts ? thank you so much!!!
    Don't learn too much at once, only what you can cope with. Learn at your own pace. Prioritise your GCSEs first though, because you need to pass those to get into university. MOOCs are a very good way to learn languages through self study. Also take a look at iTunes U as there are some self learning courses on there too for Ancient Greek and other languages.

Other websites I would recommend are EDX, Coursera and Futurelearn.

I haven't seen any courses available for the language at the moment, although I have seen this in the past, so it might become available again later on in the year. In the meantime, I saw this that I thought you might be interested in.

https://www.coursera.org/learn/ancient-greeks/#

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by homerics)
    I studied Greek to GCSE, and absolutely loved it, so first piece of advice is; definitely persevere!:) Whether or not you pass any exams, it will be loads of fun.