Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone.

I finished a degree in biomedical science last year (1st) and was dealt 4 rejections for grad entry medicine earlier this year. I didn't apply for medicine from sixth form because my sixth form tutor encouraged me to go down the Grad entry route. I got ACC at a-level (phys ed; biology; eng lit). Anyway, I digress. I have accepted a PhD in thyroid cancer treatment research at the local hospital in association with my uni. I am going to use it as a means to an end (I know people say not to) to getting into medicine. I enjoy research, although nowhere near as much as I enjoy the more clinical stuff.

Has anyone got any experience of this kind of thing? I realise that it's going to be a long haul but then again, it's only like doing a PhD after getting a MBBS.

A discussion would be massively appreciated, and feel free to ask any questions.

Cheers A x

ReputationRep:
    Just apply with your biomed degree, why would you want to spend 3 years on a PhD when your heart is set on medicine? How come you were rejected? Did you pass all of the entrance exams?

ReputationRep:
    Hi Marathi,

I am going to apply again this summer for medicine. But then if don't have a place again at least I have a contingency plan! The reason on UCAS for the rejections was 'increased competition'. I got an average of 660 on the UKCAT which I imagine had something to do with it! I applied at: Warwick, Southampton, Kings, Barts. I don't have A-level chemistry which narrows down possible avenues to apply at. I have a decent statement IMO with volunteering for various charities and working as a ambulance first responder, and excellent extra-curricular.

Thanks Marathi

ReputationRep: