Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

do adult nurses have to start a job as soon as they qualify? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Okay I hope this makes sense... Well I'm going to try and make it make sense.
    After my third year of university I'm planning to move to another city- so I was planning on obviously applying for jobs in that other city whilst I'm in third year so I was wondering (if I do get through this course and get Job offers) do you HAVE to start work as soon as you qualify, or is there an actual time limit? And how long after do start dates for newly qualified nurses start (September intake) after qualifying

I hope that makes sense 😩
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Clma.r)
    After my third year of university I'm planning to move to another city- so I was planning on obviously applying for jobs in that other city whilst I'm in third year so I was wondering (if I do get through this course and get Job offers) do you HAVE to start work as soon as you qualify, or is there an actual time limit? And how long after do start dates for newly qualified nurses start (September intake) after qualifying

There will be most jobs available around that time, as that's when places expect new nurses to be available. But there's no law saying you have to get a job straight away - people will go travelling, or get pregnant, or whatever. If you're going to have a long gap you might want to do something to keep your skills up and put on your CV (maybe volunteering, or a bank HCA job, or even just something like work in retail) as places might find it suspicious if you have a long time and nothing to show for it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Juno)