Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi. I am an international student from Nigeria and have just completed my LLB at Middlesex University London.Due to visa issues, I am confused as to what to do next. DO we start looking for training contracts before or during the lpc?
    and would anyone advise on being international and doing the BPTC with no mini pupillage.

ReputationRep:
    You're allowed to apply for training contracts from your penultimate year if i remember correctly so indeed you can apply for TCs and most firms (i think) will allow you to apply for vacation schemes.

Doing the LPC with no training contract is a risk because it could be a while before you land a TC and most city firms will fund the LPC for you. Also please don't fall for the marketing of LPC providers, the number the students applying every year is growing rapidly whilst the number of training contracts is not growing as quick, so many capable candidates like you will potentially need to be patient, maybe even for 2-3 application cycles.

Good Luck

ReputationRep:
    You were definitely meant to secure a training contract before the LPC, during your LLB. That way you'll often get the LPC funded for you. If you do the LPC without a training contract to go into then you'll have potentially wasted your time.

And I'm sure I don't have to tell your how competitive getting pupillages is. Mini pupillages can help tremendously with securing a full pupillage. I would imagine that you'll really be disadvantaged if you haven't networked with anyone during your LLB through mini pupillages.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kutta)
    You're allowed to apply for training contracts from your penultimate year if i remember correctly so indeed you can apply for TCs and most firms (i think) will allow you to apply for vacation schemes.