Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I'll keep this very simple but essentially I am at a loss as to what I should do next in terms of my career. I have two choices, and I was wondering if some people could weigh in with what they would do in a similar situation.

My background is: 2016 graduate with a 1st in Economics from a non-target Russell-group uni. Summer Internship completed in the bulge bracket in 2015 in IBD. Current job offer for a grad role at Big 4.

Should I:

A) Apply for grad roles in IBD from Aug 2016 onwards.

B) Work my way into the industry from the Big 4 / Just work my way up within the Big 4.

Thanks
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Oschene23)
    Hey,

I'll keep this very simple but essentially I am at a loss as to what I should do next in terms of my career. I have two choices, and I was wondering if some people could weigh in with what they would do in a similar situation.

My background is: 2016 graduate with a 1st in Economics from a non-target Russell-group uni. Summer Internship completed in the bulge bracket in 2015 in IBD. Current job offer for a grad role at Big 4.

Should I:

A) Apply for grad roles in IBD from Aug 2016 onwards.

B) Work my way into the industry from the Big 4 / Just work my way up within the Big 4.

Thanks
    Can't you do both? Hold on to your big4 offer but apply to IBD grad roles. Only issue would be reneging on the big 4 offer but that's not the end of the world and you can do it in a way that won't burn bridges.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Princepieman)
    Can't you do both? Hold on to your big4 offer but apply to IBD grad roles. Only issue would be reneging on the big 4 offer but that's not the end of the world and you can do it in a way that won't burn bridges.

Posted from TSR Mobile