Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, so I got a conditional offer to study an MSc in Economics at Durham University, and I know it's a top 10 school for economics and a top 5 school in the UK but I am a little worried.

I am an EU student with no internships/work experience under my belt, and I believe it would be great to work in the UK but I would like to know how good recruiting is at Durham University, what opportunities there are for master's students, how helpful the career services are.Opportunities outside the UK?

What do you think about economics at Durham? is it up and coming? are they investing in staff or trying to attract recruiters?

I would like to hear from current and former students at Durham University but people from other universities can chime in.

Also would it be possible for me to take math courses on the side?

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    Work experience is valued more than your academic profile, however it is also important. You should emphasise gaining some work experience. Also it depends where you want to work?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by glebp)
    Work experience is valued more than your academic profile, however it is also important. You should emphasise gaining some work experience. Also it depends where you want to work?
    Well, it would be great to work in IB but I don't think that is viable. I think I have the most chances in getting hired in economic research, working in a national bank or doing data analysis for a firm.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Blind Justice)
    Hey guys, so I got a conditional offer to study an MSc in Economics at Durham University, and I know it's a top 10 school for economics and a top 5 school in the UK but I am a little worried.