Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone, I have an offer to get in 1st year in Film Practice at LSBU and another one to make a Foundation in Art&Design/Media Production at Ravensbourne. I would love to have some advice as I don't really know which one to choose... Thank you, any information welcome !
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by leeoh)
    Hi everyone, I have an offer to get in 1st year in Film Practice at LSBU and another one to make a Foundation in Art&Design/Media Production at Ravensbourne. I would love to have some advice as I don't really know which one to choose... Thank you, any information welcome !
    Hi Leeoh,

I am a student here at Ravensbourne and I am completing a degree in animation, and also attended a foundation here as well.

My advice to you is which you feel would benefit you more I came from a fine art background, so I wasn't quite sure what I wanted to move on to do, also in doing fine art I was not exposed to much tech or digital equipment. So moving onto a foundation first was my way of getting myself out there and trying something new first. If you do a foundation you still have the freedom to revert back to something else for degree, so this is a year for you to explore and get to know what you really want.

As I was unsure of myself the whole time, foundation year is a chance for me to build on skills I do need (e.g. photoshop and stuff) but never had. Also gave me some time to think it over and build on my portfolio a bit more. Jumping from traditional art to suddenly animation is a big step so foundation is my stepping stone. I do also have friends within the course who did not complete a foundation but went straight to a degree, they were very sure what they wanted and also had the fundamental digital skills already. These are my main reasons for me having done a foundation first