Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Could someone help me decide on what type of bag to buy please?

I've been looking at bags for university because i know a regular backpack won't cut it anymore. I'm a photography student so i will have to carry my laptop to and from university, as well as my regular things, and sometimes library books too. I've seen a lot of students with small suitcase like bags, is it best to buy one of these and spare my shoulders the ache, or should i just buy a backpack with a laptop slot? Is a small suitcase necessary when i'm in class most of the day anyway?

ReputationRep:
    I'd recommend something like this personally.

Spoiler:
    Show

Not this exact bag but, anything around this type is helpful because it is a bag which can fit your laptop in plus a few things on the side. =)

ReputationRep:
    tbh I would have thought a backpack would be fine as long as you can fit your laptop in... library books won't be a frequent enough issue that you can't manage, I wouldn't overthink it

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CluelessAshleigh)

I've been looking at bags for university because i know a regular backpack won't cut it anymore. I'm a photography student so i will have to carry my laptop to and from university, as well as my regular things, and sometimes library books too. I've seen a lot of students with small suitcase like bags, is it best to buy one of these and spare my shoulders the ache, or should i just buy a backpack with a laptop slot? Is a small suitcase necessary when i'm in class most of the day anyway?
    about 80% of the people on my course use backpacks, they have more than enough room if you get the right one

I use a backpack with laptop slot and carry

- 1000 page textbook (2-3 times per week)
    - 15 inch laptop
    - phone and laptop charger
    - around 90 flash cards (in exam periods)
    - pencil case
    - notepad
    - 1-2 folders (a4 size)