Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Now that people have voted for Brexit, what does it mean Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

So I wake up today morning learning that Britain wants to come out of the EU based on the referendum results. I am not good at politics and have a few questions:
    1. I swear we are officially not out of the EU UNTIL the government sign some section 50 treaty or law. So how did they come to the conclusion that the £ pound value dropped?
    2. Now that Brexit has won, does that mean that the British public such as myself are not able to go to countries such as France and Germany freely and when we feel like it? I remember going to Italy recently and just having to show a passport without a visa.
    3. I know Brexit wasn't the result people were expecting but what does that mean for the future? What about the EU migrants living here?
    Finally, is it still possible for the UK to remain in the EU despite the vote?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by samklipas0)
    Hi,

I swear we are officially not out of the EU UNTIL the government sign some section 50 treaty or law. So how did they come to the conclusion that the £ pound value dropped?
    That will happen in 3 months. Enjoy them while you can. then we leave.

Now that Brexit has won, does that mean that the British public such as myself are not able to go to countries such as France and Germany freely and when we feel like it? I remember going to Italy recently and just having to show a passport without a visa.
    You can still go Italy. You can still go to Germany.

I know Brexit wasn't the result people were expecting but what does that mean for the future? What about the EU migrants living here?
    Laws cannot be acted upon retroactively. Nothing happens to them.

Finally, is it still possible for the UK to remain in the EU despite the vote?
    Yes.

Cameron can ignore the vote.

The house of lords can interfere.