Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should The EU Have Been Discussed More Thoroughly In UK Education? Watch

• View Poll Results: Should The EU Have Been Discussed More Thoroughly In UK Education?
    Yes
    57.14%
    No
    42.86%

ReputationRep:
    In my considerable few years on TSR, I have hardly ever posted in the politics forum, but I just had to state my opinion on the British education system in relation to the events of last night.

I'm a Physics student at Imperial College, and I am proud to say that I voted remain. I work with some of the most intelligent people I've ever met, including a considerable number who came from other EU member states. I voted not just for me and my future children, but for people like them who deserve to come to Britain to study at world-class institutions, to achieve what they deserve for their efforts. Now people like them will no doubt be denied this kind of opportunity, which disgusts me deeply.

There's a lot of things that have happened in the last 24 hours that have been absolutely sickening and game-changing, but one thing that really stands out for me is the proportion of Brexit voters who have since frantically only just learned what the EU is and what it has done for us, and are now regretting their choices.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entr...b0d25711498bb5

For this, I blame the education system. From the chart above, you can quite clearly see that those who did not take higher level degrees were more likely to vote leave.
    There's a considerable number of people in this country who did not continue their education beyond GCSE. Let's think for a moment what we learn before GCSE and how it would influence people's understanding of the EU.