Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Brexit and translation for EU languages watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am studying French and German currently and had a career planned as a translator.

I have no back-up and I don't see what else I can work in (never wanted to be a teacher but now may have to).

Now very worried.

Any advice appreciated.

(Also, what is the current average starting and median salaries for translation? Websites say average starting is 18k a year, and average median is 25-30k? Does that bear any resemblance to reality? Also, do you think Brexit will mean a decline not only in number of jobs but also salaries? Thanks)

ReputationRep:
    Hi J_89,

I'm a careers adviser at a University. First of all - don't worry! Our students go onto a range of different careers (e.g. copy writing, management, marketing, training). Have a look on Prospects to give you a few ideas of where your subject can lead, or go to your university careers service - they can help.

Many translators work freelance. Speaking more than one language (in addition to your mother tongue) is good, but you need to be almost bilingual in the languages. It also helps if you have knowledge in another area of work, e.g. Business, Science, Law. Think about the kind of work you are likely to get - many translate legal texts or emerging scientific research, so it's an advantage to be familiar with the language related to a specific sector.

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Uni_adviser)
    Hi J_89,

I'm a careers adviser at a University. First of all - don't worry! Our students go onto a range of different careers (e.g. copy writing, management, marketing, training). Have a look on Prospects to give you a few ideas of where your subject can lead, or go to your university careers service - they can help.