Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    so I'm looking at university accommodation at oxford brookes and for one of the halls its a 49-week contract. By this I'm assuming you pay for the whole 49 weeks. However, you're not at university for 49 weeks? and doesn't your student loan run out at a certain time of the year? where do you get the extra money from, I'm slightly confused (I'm a year 12 student, applying later this year) anyone help?
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by hestiaoya)
    so I'm looking at university accommodation at oxford brookes and for one of the halls its a 49-week contract. By this I'm assuming you pay for the whole 49 weeks. However, you're not at university for 49 weeks? and doesn't your student loan run out at a certain time of the year? where do you get the extra money from, I'm slightly confused (I'm a year 12 student, applying later this year) anyone help?
    Your student loan is meant to cover all year from september to august (you get 3 payments a year and it's normally one each term). Most accomodation offers shorter contracts than that, but otherwise yes you'd be expected to pay for the whole 49 weeks.

ReputationRep:
    Your student loan runs out only when you make it run out.

Of course you won't be in uni for 49 weeks as that's almost a year but many of the accommodations offer such lengths of contracts. Its usually for those who don't really have anywhere to come back to or cannot go back somewhere for the entire summer.

Such lenght of contract is good when all the shorter ones are all rented out and you know you can share with someone, so you'd be splitting the cost, saving you a lot of money.